Paranóias

… It's everywhere …

“What I Be Project“

with one comment

What I Be is a photo project which focuses on building security through insecurities.

The “What I Be Project” is a social experiment turned into, what is now, a global movement about honesty and empowerment. In today’s society, we are often told to look or act a certain way. If we differ from these “standards,” we are often judged, ridiculed, bullied and sometimes even killed over them. I started this project in hopes to open up the lines of communication, and to help everyone accept diversity with an open mind & heart and empower those who feel they suffer for something they may see as a flaw.

Subjects are putting their insecurities out in the open, and exposing a side of themselves that nobody has seen before. By stating “I am not my_____,” they are claiming that they do in fact struggle with these issues, but it does not define who they are as a person. They are not denying their insecurity, they are owning it. It is not aimed for people to say “You’re not fat,” or “You don’t have love handles.” It is to spread awareness on what people go through due to society’s paved roads. These are serious issues that some of us can live with, but most battle on a day to day basis.

I encourage every viewer to look at each image and put yourself in the individuals shoes. By allowing yourself to feel what they feel, you might realize something you’ve never noticed before. If you don’t understand someone’s message, stay tuned. To eliminate any confusion, each participant will be writing a 500 word or less statement explaining how their insecurity has affected their life.

Some of the faces you may recognize, some you may not. Take the time to connect with each one. You may see yourself within one of the photos.

 

“I am not my past”

 

“I am not my shape”

 

“I am not my containment”

 

“I am not my betrayal”

 

“I am not my past”

 

“I am not my sentence”

More here.

Written by paranoiasnfm

27 de Setembro de 2014 às 16:02

Uma resposta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Powerful images and words!
    I can relate to a few… I am glad these feel empowered!

    Dawn D

    30 de Setembro de 2014 at 22:59


Comment!

